Reviews

What people are saying about Brantholme Guest House




Quiet & Comfortable - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, less that 5 minutes from centre but so quiet and with amazing uninterrupted views of park and fells beyond. We were made very welcome with our two labs and towels are thoughtfully provided by the entrance door to wipe them down &dry them off. Our room was spacious, bright, comfortable and exceptionally clean. A generous choice at breakfast, hot food all freshly cooked. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Angela E | Mon 2nd Mar 2020 | 2 weeks ago


Couldn’t fault the place - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely weekend in Ambleside and the owners of Brantholme could not be kinder. Place close to town centre with off street parking, immaculate rooms and good breakfast. And best of all, our dog was made welcome too. Highly recommend.Thank you and

Reviewer:Liz D | Wed 26th Feb 2020 | 3 weeks ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

The best b&b in Ambleside. Perfect location, close to town centre but very quiet at night. Lovely rooms, great bedding. Everything you could want(except a drying room for wet walking gear, convert the downstairs loo ??)

Reviewer:raymond w | Sun 23rd Feb 2020 | 3 weeks ago


Perfect weekend break- Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and I stayed at Brantholme B&B for 2 nights on our first trip to the Lake District. We couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay. Quiet and relaxing, but within a 2 minute walk to Ambleside and all the restaurants, shops and bars. The breakfast included everything we could’ve wanted and more! We were spoilt for choice. The accommodation was beautifully clean and the bed was one of the biggest and comfiest I think we’ve ever stayed in. Dressing gown and slippers also a lovely touch! Will be highly recommending to friends and family. Thank you Jo &Frank for having us!

Reviewer:Jessica P | Mon 17th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Fabulous.- Rating 5/5

Lovely room, great food, perfect location, wonderful hosts.

Reviewer:Mr Leslie C | Sun 16th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Extremely comfortableGreat location in the centre Ambleside but away from the main roadsVery friendly and helpful owners

Reviewer:Mr Keith D | Thu 13th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Fab stay - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay,the hosts were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The bed was extremely comfortable with stunning views from the bedroom window. Fantastic breakfast. We will definitely recommend to friends.Thanks for a fab stay.

Reviewer:Barbara P | Thu 13th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Lovely spacious and clean B&B - Rating 5/5

Great B&B in a quiet location of Ambleside with good views to the west from the breakfast room. Our room (2) was East facing but spacious and easy access to the outside, needed to let our dog out! The breakfast is comprehensive and lovely. We will stay again.

Response

Many thanks John for your time and words.Glad you enjoyd your stay with us.Yes the rooms at the front have lovely views of Wansfell and the sun rises on this side making it a cooler room for summer.Its handy down the few stairs from the first floor to pop out with the dog...Hope you found the spare doggie towels by the door ok?look forward to seeing you again soon,

Reviewer:John R | Tue 11th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Another great stay :-) - Rating 5/5

Thanks to Frank and Jo, another great weekend away in Ambleside! :-) They are so welcoming and friendly, along with keen to do a great job. We reckon their location can't be beaten - on the north west edge of town and within a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside. Perfect in our view!

Reviewer:Mr Patrick F | Tue 11th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Stay - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyable stay! Frank and Jo were brilliant hosts, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend!

Response

Thank you Mr.Mitchellfor your time and nice words and glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good break and enjoyed those walks ...Hope to see you again soon.Happy New Year.

Reviewer:M | Thu 2nd Jan 2020 | 2 months ago


Excellent as always. - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at this excellent guest house many times and can thoroughly recommend it. Perfect location, super rooms, dog friendly and parking.

Response

Many thanks for the kind words you\'ve left us....Happy you continue to enjoy your break here at Brantholme and look forward to your return soon.Happy New Year.

Reviewer:chris m | Wed 1st Jan 2020 | 2 months ago


All good - Rating 5/5

Good location. Large room.Excellent food.Friendly hosts.

Response

Thank you Gary for your time and nice words.Glad you enjoyed your stay and happy you enjoyed your breakfast.Peaceful and relaxing after a longdays walk iswhat we hope you feel.Happy New Year.

Reviewer:Gary S | Mon 30th Dec 2019 | 2 months ago


Perfect pre Christmas getaway - Rating 5/5

This was the first time we stayed here and we have already booked to stay again! The location is perfect both for walking from the door and for the great restaurants and shops of Ambleside. Rooms were spotless and good bathrooms. Very professionally run

Response

Thank you Antonella for dropping a few kind words and your time.Yes its handy to have the shops and cafes and restaurants just on our door step yet on a quiet backwater location.Handy to leave the car in our car park to go off and explore the sights of Cumbria which im sure you\'ve got your itinerary mapped out ready for your return.Look forward to seeing you soon.Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Reviewer:Antonella L | Tue 24th Dec 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Fabulous location within a few minutes walk of the town. Great views and excellent size room. Good breakfast with very accommodating hosts.

Response

Thank you for your time and nice words.Happy you enjoyed your stay and maybe if you book again you could try a different room.....all lovely views mind you.

Reviewer:Julie G | Mon 23rd Dec 2019 | 2 months ago


Wonderful little gem - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Brantholme guesthouse for a weekend break, 4 adults &the pooch. The hosts were lovely and nothing was took much trouble for them, such a cosy ,homely atmosphere and comfy spotless rooms. The location is absolutely fantastic with lovely views from the bedrooms . The breakfasts were delicious with a good variety. We will certainly be back. Thank you Jo and Frank for your hospitality..

Response

Thanks all of you for your kind words.Were glad you all enjoyed your stay....even all the seasons thrown in the weather mix up on the fells!Another Brantholme Birthday enjoyed.Home from home .Hope pooch will enjoy wearing his new rain coat!See you all soon.

Reviewer:Mrs Julia R | Sun 15th Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Brilliant B&B, owners very warm and welcoming. Rooms are beautiful and all have lovely touches. Bed very comfortable and breakfast great. Will definitely be back to stay x thank you

Response

Thank you for your time to drop a review and kind words.Our hard work pays off.We just like our guests to feel comfortable and able to relax and unwind.We always like everyone to start their day on a good hearty king meal of the day.Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs Helen B | Mon 9th Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Brilliant weekend- Rating 4/5

Excellent facilities and brilliant hosts, would definitely stay again.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay.Home from home is what we like our guests to feel.Hope you can make it back soon.

Reviewer:Nicola D | Mon 9th Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Warm welcome and beautiful accommodation - Rating 5/5

Excellent in every way.A spacious attractive room with lovely views and modern ensuite facilities. Tea and coffee making facilities and even a fridge. Delicious breakfast and friendly hosts who are happy to provide you with a flask for the day's walk! Would definitely stay again when visiting the area.

Response

Thankyou for taking time out for your kind words.Happy you enjoyed your stay.Yes a hot drink is always handy climbing those fells!! Look forward to seeing you againwhen you next visit the area.

Reviewer:Pauline Mary S | Tue 3rd Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Brantholme Guest House - Rating 5/5

Brantholme Guest House was warm and friendly place to stay offering a great breakfast selection and rooms were fantastic standard.

Response

Thank you for your kind words and happy you enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing time.Hope to see you soon.

Reviewer:Mr Garrard D | Fri 29th Nov 2019 | 3 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Gorgeous place run by Jo and Frank who can’t do enough for you! Lovely clean rooms, really tasty fresh breakfasts and brilliant location to explore Ambleside without having to drive. Jo and Frank welcomed us and our dog with open arms and really helped to make our stay special. Jo provided coffee and biscuits on our arrival which was a lovely touch. They provided us with lots of recommendations on places to visit, local walks and restaurants. Brilliant place to take your dog, they leave towels at the back door to wipe off muddy paws. As dogs aren’t allowed in the dining room they brought our breakfast up to our room for us which was lovely. The room was spacious and had the added bonus of a bath and a shower, lovely to have a long hot soak after a day of hiking and exploring. The back door has night time access using your room key so no need to worry about getting back for a certain time. Would 100% recommend and we will be back. Stunning place and really lovely people!

Reviewer:j | Thu 21st Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


location, Stunning Property and Perfect Hosts- Rating 5/5

Lovely to meet Frank & Jo, very welcoming and really enjoyed the stay. Great location 2 minute walk from the town centre, parking on site and a lovely view out back to the mountains. We didn't wake up in time for the breakfast first day ( too many beers ), 2nd morning down for breakfast we were well looked after and lovely food. Would stay again, thinking of booking for next year . Thanks Frank & Jo :)

Reviewer:S | Thu 21st Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


- Rating 5/5

5 Star Service and HospitalityWe stayed here for a long weekend with our little Bijon and had a great time. Firstly the new Owners have taken this place to the next level in the B And B business . Friendly , Courteous and nothing is too much trouble attitude is evident when you first walk in the place . We were greeted with Tea , Coffee and Jo’s homemade muffins , very nice! The place is spotless throughout , our room was large with patio doors opening to the beautifully kept gardens and the view was just stunning. Beds very comfortable , large bathroom with a bath and separate shower which was very good. Breakfast in the morning was prepared by Frank and served Jo , the choice from cereals, fruits , juices etc and cooked breakfast of choice from locally sourced ingredients . Amazing is all I can say . Keep…Read moreDate of stay:October 2019

Reviewer:v | Fri 15th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


FANTASTIC - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for two nights my husband myself and our dog We were greeted by the friendly hosts who gave us tea coffee and cakes in the dining room which we thought was a lovely touch Our room was on the ground floor with patio doors opening onto a beautiful garden it had a large very comfortable bed bathrobes and slippers Ours hosts were very pleasant and cheerful in the morning breakfast was cooked to order and and was delicious there was also fresh fruit yoghurts cereal jams and peanut butter There is an ice making machine in dining room which we thought was brilliant so you can have drinks in your room if you wanted there is a fridge in room Everywhere was spotless Whould highly recommend this fabulous b and b and we will definitely returnRead moreDate of stay:October 2019

Reviewer:M | Fri 15th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


BIRTHDAY - Rating 5/5

My husband and I booked for my birthday initially but my Husband could not get the time off work and we had taken a special offer. Thankfully the owners were happy for us to change our dates. Owners were really friendly and welcoming. This place was perfect, spotlessly clean throughout. Choices for breakfast with cereal, full cooked and kippers. My god my Hubby went on and on about how great the kippers were!!! Room was lovely with chairs to sit and look at the views. Lovely location, not far from park as we had dogs and close to the shops which also housed dog friendly pubs. The views from the hotel were outstanding. Only thing for me that could improve would be thicker bathroom towels as they were a bit thin so not brilliant at drying you off, but this is a minor grumble on…Read moreDate of stay:October 2019

Reviewer:S | Fri 15th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


STUNNING LOCATION AND PERFECT ROOM - Rating 5/5

Beautiful room and warm friendly welcomeStayed here with partner and pooch. Owners were very friendly and helpful and couldn't believe that they had just taken it over a few weeks ago as they were so professional and everything was run so smoothly. We had a lovely room with superb views. Location of Branyholme is second to non as Ambleside town centre is only a 5 min walk away. Breakfast was amazing. Superb choice and very well cooked. Will definitely be coming back here again. Thank you for the warm welcome.Read moreDate of stay:September 2019

Reviewer:G | Fri 15th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

Special VisitWe are not long back from this establishment and safe to say we will be back, we have been to Ambleside many times but 1st visit here, the new hosts were very accommodating and we had an amazing room,the breakfasts were 1st class.Read moreDate of stay:October 2019

Reviewer:p | Fri 15th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent value for money. - Rating 5/5

Extremely happy with our stay. Great price included cooked breakfasts which were deliciously cooked. No curfews, able to access side door with a key whatever time. Hosts were so friendly and helpful. Room was well kept and clean. Bed was big and comfy. Lovely bed and breakfast. Couldn't fault it. Thanks for a lovely stay. (source TripAdvisor)

Reviewer:l | Sun 6th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

Just returned from delightful weekend at Brantholme. Very large clean room with lovely uninterrupted views. Position excellent - round the corner from shops and restaurants yet quiet and secluded position with walks from the front door without recourse to a car. Friendly helpful hosts have recently taken over the establishment. The breakfasts are personalised with a wide range of options. Highly recommended. (source TripAdvisor)

Response

Thank you for your time and lovely comments.We aim to help everyone have a relaxing stay.Glad you enjoyed your breakfast. Nice you left your car for local walks nearby and had an enjoyable stay.Hope to see you soon.

Reviewer:M | Wed 14th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Skafell walk - Rating 5/5

Stayed at this lovely establishment. Greeted by friendly lady who helped us in with our bags. Arranged early breakfast with no fuss. Breakfast was excellent. Room comfy and clean. Friendly owners and staff. A lovely weekend. Many thanks. (source TripAdvisor)

Reviewer:1 | Wed 12th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Wonderful hosts in Ambleside - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay in Brantholme B&B in Ambleside. Hosts, Ian and Helen, warmly welcomed us and made our stay feel like home. The room was spacious and resting in the two armchairs by the window overlooking the fell after our walks through the magnificent Lakes District were just what was needed to restore the soul...and the feet. (source TripAdvisor)

Reviewer:Wendy A | Wed 15th May 2019 | 10 months ago


Book Online